Between fines, legal fees, and a spike in your car insurance in Frisco, TX, a DUI will cost you a lot.
Driving under the influence is a big mistake. You already know that it’s not smart because you’re putting your life and the lives of others at risk, but if that (very major!) reason isn’t enough to stow your keys before you start sipping, consider this. A DUI is extremely expensive. It’s not just the ticket – you also need to consider things like legal fees and car insurance in Frisco, TX. Let’s break it down.
You may already know that the court fine for a DUI in the state of Texas is up to $2,000 if it’s your first offense and there wasn’t a child under 15 in the car. But don’t think that 2k captures your DUI cost. There are quite a few other things to consider.
Getting your car out of impound and paying for the towing can cost anywhere between $100 and $1,000. Paying for a DUI lawyer to defend you in court will generally run you about $2,500, and you’ll still likely have to complete alcohol education. That usually costs about a grand. You’ll pay at least $100 to get your license reinstated, too.
Once you’ve made it through all the legal proceedings, you’ll have another ongoing expense. Your car insurance rates will spike after a DUI, and could end up costing you thousands more per year.
And to top it all off, you’ll also be held in jail for between 3 and 180 days. That’s a lot of time spent not working, and not earning a paycheck to help with the expenses you’re facing!
In short, a DUI just isn’t worth it. Please don’t drink and drive.
After a DUI, getting car insurance in Frisco, TX can feel impossible. If you need help getting coverage, contact Mike Leonard Insurance Agency in North Texas. We can show you your options from our carriers Kemper, MetLife, Travelers, The Hartford, Safeco Insurance, Progressive, and American Strategic Insurance.